Baripada, Dec. 7 -- The counting of votes for the bypolls to Zilla Parishad zone-32 of Mayurbhanj district began today amid tight security.

According to information, the counting of votes underway at Bijatala block office will continue till 2 pm today and thereafter the results will be declared.

As many as 17,779 voters turned out to cast their votes at 82 booths of Bijatala, Mundatkhura, Banakati, Raihari and Luhashila panchayats. A total of 78 percent voter turnout was registered during the by-elections.

A total of 10 candidates are in fray for the zilla parishad seat, which fell vacant following the death of BJP candidate Chhotray Marandi.

Meanwhile, alleging massive booth rigging and capturing by BJD workers in 8 booths of Bijatala ...